This is what I’ll treasure when I left the airline

An old man had to be lifted up by two guys into his seat at 5D after being wheeled onto the plane.

He traveled alone.

Half way trough the boarding process, my stewardess hurriedly came to the galley looking for a wet towel and informed me that the old man has vomited. I tagged along to see on how well my crew in taking care of this man and perhaps she might need an extra hand.

He was indeed in a capable hand of the crew and did not show any obvious sign that requires an immediate medical assistance. I did however, ask this “atuk” whether or not that he would be able to travel. I had to repeat the same question many times because he was almost deaf.

He said that he could.

Returned to my boarding position at door one and another crew came, asking me for the list of vacant seats because there were two neighboring passengers seated next to the atuk wanted to change their seats. They were, perhaps annoyed by the persistent coughing of the old man. The flight time was barely an hour from Miri to Kuching.

I felt tinge of sadness knowing that my fellow Malaysians could be that heartless. Or maybe they were wrongly assumed. Perhaps it was the smell that bothered them.

There was another “tudung” clad lady who offered herself to look after the old man. She was the saving grace of  my earlier disappointment with my fellow countrymen.

The flight went well onto its cruising level when the kind lady called us that the old man was seemingly distressed. After much pain trying to understand on what he was saying, we finally figured out that we wanted to go to the toilet.

I had to call two stewards and we tried to carry him as the usual way of lifting a man who could not even walk by holding under his armpits but he was groaning in pain telling us that he just had a tummy operation. One of the stewards had to stand in front of him, hug the man from the upper torso and the other steward had to literally lift the old man’s foot one at the time. The short “walk” from row 5 to the toilet at door one took a good ten minutes.

In the toilet while the door still remain opened, the poor atuk struggling to unfasten his own belt’s buckle and even could not unzipped his own pants. The steward had to do the task of removing the pants and even pulled down the man’s boxer. And to help putting the man on the throne.

To give back some dignity to this poor man, we closed the door without locking. It was a business numero uno.

We reversed the process of getting him dressed and placed him somewhere near the toilet instead of putting him back at his original seat.

I am writing this, with a warm heart in complimenting to my crew members who have shown a dedication, utmost care toward another human being without having to complain about the smelly old man, who I could see through his watery eyes on how grateful he was with the assistance given.

To FS  Muhammad Hazizi Najib who risked being vomited while carrying him on your shoulders and helped him settle down in the loo.

To FS Sahran Reduan who patiently lifted the old man’s feet while your face buried in the old man’s ass.

To FSS Rodiana Lembang who helped to refresh the man by wiping away the smelly belched puke and constantly talking and reassured the man in Iban language.

To all of you…thank you and God bless!

 

4 thoughts on “This is what I’ll treasure when I left the airline

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

